Reviews

We welcome critical appraisal and constructive reviews. And when problems do arise, we always seek to address them immediately in an appropriate and fair manner.  We’re not perfect and when we’re serving food that’s been freshly prepared today , everyday , there are so many variables that have to come together to produce a really good result.

We think that based on the comments we receive on a daily basis – we get it right about 97 % of the time.  Our service is often governed by the number of people that who just happen to be passing or are here in the beautiful village of Wytham to walk in our magnificent and ancient woods.  Some days up to 70 people can walk into the pub and rightly expect to be served a good drink and a good meal – we’re a pub that serves food and if we can’t get that right then we shouldn’t be in business.

If you are coming to visit us , we do strongly suggest that you make a table reservation as we do sometimes have to turn people away or ask them to wait a little time before we can serve them food.

We live by the old Polish Proverb below

polish proverb 2

 

You can of course find many review online about us and not least at Trip Advisor.


 “The Jerusalem artichoke veloute was worth the trip alone…you could lock me in a small room and force me to eat this three times a day. Heaven”.#

READ OUR LATEST OXFORD TIMES REVIEW IN FULL HERE

The Oxford Times, January 12th 2017


“We held our wedding reception at the White Hart, and couldn’t have asked for a better venue. The food was delicious and service impeccable, not to mention the beautiful setting! Thank you Baz, Amanda, and the team at the White Hart for making our day extra special! Brett & Fen”. July 2016

“Perfect Family Party Venue” 5 of 5 starsJune 2016
“Family reunion lunch on a beautiful hot & sunny day, al fresco dining, excellent service, simply scrumptious food! Hope to return again soon with more of my family! Highly recommended. Many thanks to Baz for making this a wonderful occasion!” Emma Clarke, May 2016

“We held a mixed generation party at the White Hart and have decided it made the perfect family venue. The attentive care of our many generations and the quality of the food and service could not have been bettered. We were a group of 22 adults and 6 small children, and the tables and use of space allowed us to visit together comfortably while the children played happily next to and among us all. The meal choices were just right and the freshness and quality of the cooking produced praise from all.”

Here are a few of the comments and reviews that we have received elsewhere since taking over in January last year:

By Email

“It was a huge pleasure to eat at the White Hart last Monday (20 April) – not least because Wytham and the walks there have been a seminal part of growing up in Oxford for all our family. Your lovely, welcoming front of house lady found us a table by the fire, and the guy behind the bar was really attentive. Food delicious – mixture of mains and small plates. Great Baz”

“I’ve been meaning to get in touch with you since I brought my mother for that lovely evening at The White Hart in March. I hope Jo passed on that we really enjoyed our evening. It’s so exciting that you have taken over there.”

By text

“Just wanted to tell you I am having  wonderful lunch at the White Hart – has all your hallmarks”

Via our website

“We ate here tonight. The food is lovely and Amanda made us very welcome. We come to Oxford every year, from Derbyshire and always come to The White Hart for lunch on our way in and dinner on one of the evenings.We wish you well and can’t recommend you highly enough”  ( KP)

Via Facebook

“We held big family Sunday lunch to celebrate my son’s birthday and were thrilled all round that we chose The White Hart. Wonderful selection of traditional roasts (I had the venison which was beautifully soft and buttery) but also great starter and veggie options. Service was faultless and the atmosphere was buzzing and busy but despite being packed (a measure of how good it is) the service was prompt and attentive, food came out quickly and was piping hot. Drive straight past the over-hyped Wolvercote pubs and head straight here instead. You will not be disappointed! PS Do try the home cured olives. Delicious!” Doulla Croft, October 2016

“I’ve been meaning to post since the summer. An all round gorgeous place to spend relaxing time and eat amazing food, but it’s also the extra touches that make such a difference. This summer I sat down with a glass of fizz in the (beautiful!) courtyard garden. My over enthusiastic dog knocked the table and I lost almost all my drink before I could even take a sip. Moments later the wonderful owner appeared and refilled my glass without a word, or any charge. I LOVE this place.” Lucy Atkins, September 2016

“Great pub, amazing garden. Really impressed with the food – there was a special wood smoked food festival on when we visited. Had one of the best steaks Ive ever had! Definitely worth a visit.” Simon Pipola, August 2016

“Delicious meal last night: the mushroom and duck egg starter was exceedingly good! Thanks to the team”

 

From Bitten Oxford – the premier local foodies group

http://bittenoxford.co.uk/white-hart-wytham-restaurant-review/

 

Via Open Table

“Yet again, the White Hart of Wytham has been splendid: friendly welcome, good table, pleasant atmosphere and an excellent lunch. The attractive smells from the kitchen are always the signs of quality cuisine.” 28th August 2016

“The food and the service were both excellent. This wasn’t our first time at the White Hart and the standards continue to be high. Lovely Sunday lunch and the staff were attentive without being intrusive. Thoroughly recomend to others.” 7th August 2016

“We took our whole family for Easter lunch at the White Hart of Wytham and we all thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We felt very welcomed as we received friendly and first class service throughout our meal; which included some special requests from the children that were all accommodated easily and with a smile. The food was delicious, with all of us opting for different variations of the traditional Sunday lunch (pork, beef, lamb) and all of us enjoying our meal. What more could you ask for?” 27th March 2016

“We have been here on a few occasions, it’s such a lovely place. The staff are very welcoming and friendly, always happy to tend to your needs, but not too much so you can eat your meal in peace. The food is absolutely first class, a delight to the taste buds! Along with a great range of drinks to suit all. We have been to many restaurants throughout the years, and this one is definitely in our top 5! It’s a shame that some of the people that visited while we ate there weren’t as polite. Well done to the staff for being very professional whilst handling these imbeciles! “  25th May 2015

 

“We had a family Sunday lunch at the White Hart and we all thought it was excellent. The service was attentive but not too fussy. Loved the fact that we were given water without even asking for it. The meal itself was excellent. Very well cooked, high quality ingredients and plenty of it. Really nice that we were told that if we wanted anymore of anything we just had to ask. The puddings were just as good. We’d definitely go again and recommend it thoroughly “  25th May 2015

 

“This is now under new management and is owned by Wadworth brewery. Bar staff are really friendly, helpful and attentive. Varied menu, and what we ordered was very good. Had an amazing starter of wild mushrooms on toast with poached duck egg which was superb (but almost enough as a main course in its own right). We were there for a birthday celebration and it was ideal.” 1st April 2015

 

Via Google

“Ignore any old reviews. This pub is under new enthusiastic, skilled, delightfully friendly wood burning fires, fresh lick of paint management. We went for Sunday lunch – incredible value for £20 inc dessert – pork, lamb, beef, pheasant and veggie option all served with SEVEN (yes seven) different vegetables – roast spuds and parsnips, orange roasted carrots,cauliflower in 3 cheese sauce, broccoli, french beans and savoy cabbage. We did not need supper that night. A great trip out of Oxford, and worth coming from London for our guests. “  February 2015

 

“Just came back from a 2.5 hour Sunday lunch by the fire. 8 of us (4 under 6). We were a bit nervous as the owners are new (taking over in January 2015). Great food – we were made to feel really welcome. Perfect Sunday. Thank you”

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Reviews

  1. Ate dinner at the White Hart last night for the first time since it changed hands last January. The food was excellent as was the service. We only visit the area a few times a year but we’ll be back. Fortunately our next visit is just after Christmas and we have our table booked already.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s